« 05.22.02 - 8:44 a.m. »

Okay, so after I wrote the last entry, I was worked up enough about the whole thing that I did bring it up and try to talk to him about it.

And, just as I predicted, it did not go well, due mainly to the excessive amount of defensiveness involved.

So yeah. Pah.

Did I mention that it's no longer concrete that I'll be going there for the summer? The day before yesterday, we had some ridiculous argument culminating in "Fine. I hope you have fun at your mother's this summer, because I don't think you should come here."

Granted, I'm not at all sure he's completely serious, especially since he hasn't made any mention at all of it since then, but still. I'm starting to feel like he's going to hold my presence there over my head from now until September. Before I go, it'll be like the above example--he'll make me feel like I can't do anything for fear of upsetting him into not "letting" me come. Once I'm there, I have a hunch that I'll end up not wanting to upset him because he'll start making comments about "sending me home."

Frankly, I think it's all kind of ridiculous. I shouldn't have to walk on eggshells in order to feel welcome in his home.

So I dunno.

« . »